Beach of Dreams

Saturday 26th June 2021 to
Sunday 1st August 2021

Beach of Dreams

Beach of Dreams is an epic journey, curated by arts company Kinetika, to discover the hidden gems of the East Coast of England, inviting collaboration from communities and artists along the way in Suffolk, Essex, Southend, and Thurrock.

Kinetika’s Artistic Director, Ali Pretty, and travel writer Kevin Rushby are walking the entire route, joined by artists, writers, scientists, and local residents. Together, guided by strong environmental themes and the challenges of our current time, they will consider the question “How can we creatively reimagine our future?”

Everyone is invited to choose a mile to walk, submit an image of the landscape, a drawing and a few words about their connection to it and your dream for its future. All words and photos sent in will contribute to a new digital story map of the coastal path, reflecting and recording the narrative of the walk as it unfolds. Images submitted by 9th April 2021 will be used as inspiration for the design of 500 silk pennants illustrating the beautiful coastal landscape and its challenges. These pennants will be hand painted using natural dyes by the Kinetika Design Studio and form spectacular installations during the event. Images submitted after the 9th April may not be part of the pennant designs but can still be uploaded to the story map. An installation of all 500 pennants will mark the beginning of the walk on 27 June, at sunrise on the beach at Lowestoft, during the First Light Summer Solstice. The route follows the coast, taking in stunning scenery, wild landscapes and seaside towns. Further installations and events take place along the way including Harwich Festival on 10 July and the finale at Tilbury Fort on 1 Aug. 

Discover the 35 stages of the 500-mile walk and book your mile here

WALK 1: Sun 27 June – Lowestoft Euroscope to Southwold Lighthouse
WALK 2: Mon 28 June – Southwold Lighthouse to Halesworth Town Park
WALK 3: Tues 29 June – Halesworth Town Park to Aldeburgh Moot Hall
WALK 4: Wed 30 June – Aldeburgh Moot Hall to Orford Ferry
WALK 5: Thurs 1 July – Orford Ness
WALK 6: Fri 2 July – Orford Ness to Sutton Hoo
WALK 7: Sat 3 July – Sutton Hoo to Bawdsey Ferry
WALK 8: Sun 4 July – Felixstowe Ferry to Ipswich Marina

WALK 9: Mon 5 July – Ipswich Marina to Shotley Ferry
WALK 10: Tues 6 July – Shotley Ferry to Dedham War Memorial
WALK 11: Wed 7 July – Dedham War Memorial to Wrabness House for Essex
WALK 12: Thurs 8 July – Wrabness House for Essex to Harwich Ha'Penny Pier 
WALK 13: Sat 10 July – Ha'Penny Pier to Walton-on-the-Naze
WALK 14: Sun 11 July – Walton-on-the-Naze to Jaywick Martello Tower

WALK 15: Mon 12 July – Jaywick Martello Tower to Brightlingsea Ferry
WALK 16: Tue 13 July – Mersea Island Circular Walk
WALK 17: Wed 14 July – Brightlingsea Ferry to Peldon Church
WALK 18: Thurs 15 July – Peldon Church to Tollesbury Marina
WALK 19: Fri 16 July – Tollesbury Marina to Maldon Hythe
WALK 20: Sat 17 July – Maldon Hythe to Bradwell Waterside
WALK 21: Sun 18 July – Bradwell Waterside to Burnham-on-Crouch Quay

WALK 22: Mon 19 July – Wallasea Island Circular Walk
WALK 23: Tues 20 July – Burnham-on-Crouch Quay to South Woodham Ferrers Quay
WALK 24: Wed 21 July – Hullbridge Quay to Paglesham Jetty
WALK 25: Thurs 22 July – Paglesham Jetty to Rochford (The Square)
WALK 26: Fri 23 July – Rochford (The Square) to Shoeburyness Boom
WALK 27: Sat 24 July – Shoeburyness Boom to Benfleet Station
WALK 28: Sun 25 July – Canvey Island Circular Walk

WALK 29: Mon 26 July – Benfleet Station to Thurrock Thameside Nature Park
WALK 30: Tues 27 July – Thurrock Thameside Nature Park to Langdon Hills
WALK 31: Wed 28 July – Langdon Hills to South Ockendon Village Green
WALK 32: Thurs 29 July – South Ockendon Village Green to Purfleet-on-Thames
WALK 33: Fri 30 July – Purfleet-on-Thames to Purfleet Beacon
WALK 34: Sat 31 July – Purfleet Beacon to Grays Library
WALK 35: Sun 1 Aug – Grays Library to Tilbury Cruise Terminal

Find your free activity pack here

Photo: Mike Johnston




When

Saturday 26th June 2021 to
Sunday 1st August 2021

Where

Various Locations from Lowestoft to Tilbury

Access

Access Information will be published on each walk page nearer to the event date

Website

Link

Previous A Refracted View
SILT

Estuary 2021 is made possible by

Principal Partners

Creative_Estuary_New_1   ace

Major Partners

ecc uok thurrock thames_gateway selep medway  thames estuary   ebbsfleet    mayor locatekent kentcc gravesham uoe bas_coun   south_coun Here for Culture

Commissioning Partners

book_fest community_fund heritage_fund creative_coast bexleysalford fpg lesnes Essex2020Logo The Old Waterworks Logo UCA1

Festival Partners

arts_human uni_south uni_oxford uni_glas send_pier pla opp_se henley c2c roh southeastern Thamesmead2 Peabody2 BowArts3

Festival Supporters

essex_diversity   raddison   uber SouthEssex1 UniversityCentre1